What is it about Peaky Blinders’ Thomas Shelby?

photo by robert viglasky/2014/BBC

I’m a big fan of music and watch many shows solely for the soundtrack. I was reading a review of Peaky Blinders, the BBC series now streaming on Netflix, and it mentioned that the soundtrack was great and, specifically, that is had a lot of Jack White. The review went on to call Peaky Blinders one of the most violent series on TV. Generally nothing loses me faster. But I decided to check it out, at least the music. It was the pandemic and I was desperate.

The second episode of Season One had a fight scene choreographed to music that blew me away. It was gorgeous! I was hooked. I binged the entire five seasons, and was desolate when it was over. What now? I was loving hanging in the world created and scripted by Steven Knight and brought to life by a stellar cast.

Soon, after looking unsuccessfully for other shows, I realized, that it was Thomas Shelby I missed!

What is it about this character that is so riveting? Let’s have a look:

  1. He’s portrayed by Cillian Murphy. It quickly becomes apparent that no one else but Murphy could have managed this version of Thomas Shelby. He’s a mess of contradictions. He and the creator/director S. Knight, nailed the character from from Day One. As the character develops throughout the 30-some episodes…

--

--